OP: Female Sexual Response

There have been constant, and recently frequent, questions from women regarding knowing when they have orgasms. Men seem to be asking how they can know. The problem is very real because orgasms never just happen with women. Young men learn what an orgasm is because they awaken making a pool of semen on their sheets. The response of men is apparent: Penis enlarges, glans swell and turn purple; ejaculate goes everywhere and the penis softens. We women have every bit as much, and more, going on “down there” (and everywhere else); it just is not apparent.

The first time I took a penis into me I knew more about what it was going to do than I knew about what parts of me would be doing. This was inspite of the fact that I had been masturbating to orgasm for nearly two years. I was just not aware of what should be happening. So, let’s go through what our female body will be doing from initial interest through and following our reaching a climax. We will focus on the physiological response with little side trips into the psychological.

We are each so individual, and different from time to time, that inexperienced men may be doing the wrong thing to excite us because it “worked last time.” We may do the same for ourselves. Some women are indifferent to breast stimulation; others can come close or even reach orgasm through breast play. My right nipple seems wired directly to my clitoris; the longer attention is paid to my breasts, the faster my response later.

The first measurable sign of sexual arousal is the appearance of increased lubrication on the vaginal walls. Even thinking about sex can cause this to happen and measurement with inserted sensors indicates that this occurs several times a day. During lead-in to expected sex, this lubrication is greater and can leave spots in your panties or even dampen your pubic hair. The vagina is preparing to receive a penis.